Manchester TV

Sunrise Sunset

HALL OF FAME: Premier League induct Shearer and Henry – who’s next?


Former Newcastle striker Alan Shearer and ex-Arsenal forward Thierry Henry have been inducted into the newly created Premier League Hall of Fame.

The concept has been brought in by the Premier League to recognise the greatest players to have ever played in the division.

Other leagues and competitions across the world already have their own hall of fame for their former players.

Strikers Henry and Shearer are the first two inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Former Newcastle, Southampton and Blackburn Rovers man Shearer made 441 appearances in the league.

He scored 260 goals during that period and lifted the title once with Blackburn.

The late Sir Bobby Robson, who managed Shearer at Newcastle, once said, "He’s a superb team player and an inspirational captain. As a player he is up there with the very best."

Thierry Henry joined Arsenal as a winger before being converted by then-boss Arsene Wenger to a more central role.

He scored 175 goals in 258 appearances, winning two Premier League titles and four golden boots.


Who will be next to go in the Premier League Hall of Fame?


A 23-man shortlist will allow fans to vote on the next six players to follow the pair into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The list of nominees is as follows:

  • Tony Adams
  • David Beckham
  • Dennis Bergkamp
  • Sol Campbell
  • Eric Cantona
  • Andy Cole
  • Ashley Cole
  • Didier Drogba
  • Les Ferdinand
  • Rio Ferdinand
  • Robbie Fowler
  • Steven Gerrard
  • Roy Keane
  • Frank Lampard
  • Matt Le Tissier
  • Michael Owen
  • Peter Schmeichel
  • Paul Scholes
  • John Terry
  • Robin van Persie
  • Nemanja Vidic
  • Patrick Vieira
  • Ian Wright

You can vote to pick your six favourites from that list of nominees until Sunday 9th May.

Watch Live

Watch the channel on TV