Manchester TV

Sunrise Sunset

HALL OF FAME: First eight players selected from list of nominees


A further six players have joined Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry on the Premier League’s Hall of Fame list.

Former Manchester United trio Eric Cantona, Roy Keane and David Beckham have all made the list, having experienced their fair share of success under Sir Alex Ferguson.

Two English centre midfield icons - in Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard - have also been inducted following significant spells at Chelsea and Liverpool respectively.

The final member of the first eight to enter the Hall of Fame is Dutchman Dennis Bergkamp, who played a huge part in Arsenal’s invincible season.


Each Career by Numbers


Alan Shearer: 441 Appearances, 260 Goals, 64 Assists, 1 Title & 3 Golden Boots

Thierry Henry: 258 Appearances, 175 Goals, 74 Assists, 2 Titles & 4 Golden Boots

Eric Cantona: 156 Appearances, 70 Goals, 56 Assists & 4 Titles

Roy Keane: 366 Appearances, 39 Goals, 33 Assists & 7 Titles

David Beckham: 265 Appearances, 62 Goals, 80 Assists & 6 Titles

Dennis Bergkamp: 315 Appearances, 87 Goals, 94 Assists & 3 Titles

Frank Lampard: 609 Appearances, 177 Goals, 102 Assists & 3 Titles

Steven Gerrard: 504 Appearances, 120 Goals & 92 Assists


Who’s Next?


Now that the Hall of Fame has its first eight inductees, fans have begun discussing the other players who were nominated and who should be inducted next.

With a heavy focus on attacking play in the early inductions, it is expected that some of the next could be defenders.

Players such as John Terry and Rio Ferdinand boast 11 titles between them and played in two of the greatest sides the league has ever seen.

Further up the pitch, Paul Scholes may have been a little unlucky to miss out on the first eight, given his influence on Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United side.

Watch Live

Watch the channel on TV